top of page

The Naqshbandiyya Aliyya Sufi Way

Formally known as: As-Siddiqiyya, At-Tayfuriyya, Khwajaganiyya, Naqshbandiyya, Naqshbandi-Mujaddidiyya, Naqshbandiyya-Khalidiyya, Naqshbandi-Dhagestaniyya, Naqshbandiyya-Haqqaniyya

Naqshbandiyya means to “tie the Naqsh very well.” The Naqsh is the perfect engraving of Allah’s Name in the heart of the follower. Naqsh which means “engraving” and suggests engraving the name of Allah in the heart, and band which means “bond” and indicates the link between the individual and his Creator.

Naqshbandiyya is a major Tariqa (way) of Sunni Islam. The meaning of "Tariqa" is the Muslim spiritual path towards direct knowledge of God or Reality. In the 9th and 10th centuries, tariqa meant the spiritual path of individual Sufis (mystics). After the 12th century, as communities of followers gathered around Shaykhs (teachers), tariqa came to designate the Shaykh’s entire ritual system, which was followed by the community or mystic order. Eventually tariqa came to mean the order itself.

What distinguishes the Naqshbandi school from other Sufi orders is the fact that it takes its foundations and principles from the teachings and example of the six bright stars in the firmament of the Prophet (s). These great figures were: Abu Bakr as-Siddiq, Salman al-Farisi, Ja'far as-Sadiq, Bayazid Tayfur al- Bistami, 'Abdul Khaliq al-Ghujdawani, and Muhammad Baha’uddin Uwaysi al- Bukhari, known as Shah Naqshband–the eponymous Imam of the tariqa.

The Naqshbandiyya Aliyya Sufi Order traces back a lineage of Sufi masters - this lineage is referred to as The Naqshbandi Golden Chain.

The designation of the Naqshbandi Golden Chain has changed from century to century. From the time of Abu Bakr as-Siddiq (r) to the time of Bayazid al- Bistami (r) it was called as-Siddiqiyya. From the time of Bayazid to the time of Sayyidina Abdul Khaliq al-Ghujdawani it was called at-Tayfuriyya. From the time of Sayyidina ‘Abdul Khaliq al-Ghujdawan to the time of Shah Naqshband it was called the Khwajaganiyya. From the time of Shah Naqshband through the time of Sayyidina Ubaidullah al-Ahrar and Sayyidina Ahmad Faruqi, it was called Naqshbandiyya.


From the time of Sayyidina Ahmad al-Faruqi to the time of Shaykh Khalid al-Baghdadi it was called Naqshbandi-Mujaddidiyya. From the time of Sayyidina Khalid al- Baghdadi until the time of Sayiddina Shaykh Ismail Shirwani it was called the Naqshbandiyya-Khalidiyya. From the time of Sayyidina Isma’il Shirwani until the time of Sayyidina Shaikh ‘Abdullah ad-Daghestani, it was called Naqshbandi-Daghestaniyya. From the time of Sayyidina Shaikh ‘Abdullah ad-Daghestani until the time of Sayyidina Shaykh Muhammad Nazim Adil al-Haqqani it was called Naqshbandiyya-Haqqaniyya. Today it is called Naqshbandiyya Aliyya.

The Naqshbandiyya Aliyya 
Golden Chain

  1. Prophet Muhammad

  2. Abu Bakr as-Siddiq

  3. Salman al-Farisi

  4. Qasim ibn Muhammad ibn Abi Bakr

  5. Jafar al-Sadiq

  6. Tayfur Bayazid Bastami

  7. Abu al-Hassan al-Kharaqani 

  8. Abu Ali Farmadi

  9. Yusuf Hamadani

  10. Abu'l-Abbas, al-Khidr

  11. Abdul Khaliq Ghijduwani

  12. Arif Riwgari

  13. Mahmood Anjir Faghnawi

  14. Ali Ramitani

  15. Mohammad Baba As-Samasi

  16. Sayyid Amir Kulal

  17. Muhammad Baha'uddin Naqshband

  18. Sayyid Alauddin Atar

  19. Yaqub al-Charkhi

  20. Khwaja Ahrar

  21. Muhammad Zahid Wakhshi

  22. Darwish Muhammad

  23. Muhammad Khwaja al-Amkanaki

  24. Khwaja Baqi Billah

  25. Mujaddid Alf ath-Thani Ahmad Sirhindi

  26. Muhammad Ma'sum Sirhindi

  27. Muhammad Sayfuddin al-Faruqi al-Mujaddidi

  28. Sayyid Nur Muhammad al-Badawani

  29. Shams-ud-Dīn Habīb Allāh

  30. Shah Abdullah ad-Dahlawi

  31. Khalid al-Baghdadi

  32. Ismail Muhammad al-Shirwani

  33. Khas Muhammad ash-Shirwani

  34. Muhammad Effendi al-Yaraghi

  35. Jamaluddin al-Kumuki al-Husayni

  36. Abu Ahmad as-Sughuri

  37. Abu Muhammad al-Madani

  38. Sharafuddin al-Daghestani

  39. Abdullah al-Fa'iz ad-Daghestani

  40. Muhammad Nazim Adil Al-Haqqani

  41. Muhammad Adil ar-Rabbani

Daily Spiritual Practices

The Naqshbandi follower has to practice their prayers and obligations according to the Holy Qur’an and the Sunnah of the Prophet (s) and to keep the presence and love of Allah alive in their heart through a personal experience of the link between themself and their Lord. In adherence to the traditions of any Sufi order, students are assigned a prescribed set of daily spiritual practices that they are required to diligently observe together with all other obligations, according to the Shari'ah of the Prophet ﷺ. It is the way that the student reaches the key of nearness to Allah. 

Awrad / Wird - Litanies

Copy of traditional-islamic-pattern_200484-57.jpg.webp

Award of the Initiate


Award of the Prepared


Award of the Deterimined



Fair (Dawn)


Dhuhr (Noon)


Asr (Afteroon)


Maghrib (Sunset)


Isha (Evening)


Qiyaam al-Layl

bottom of page